Book Review Ten: Inca Gold by Clive Cussler

My word but it’s been a while since I did a review of a book. I have several in mind for this, but one of them I’m rereading now so that I can hopefully post it later this week.

As for today’s review, I give you a brief overview of the first Clive Cussler book that I ever read and still enjoy to this day.

I think I was in 4th grade when I first read Inca Gold. I was iffy on it at first because, up until that point, it was the thickest book I had ever owned, let alone held in my hands. And how on earth could something happening underwater be interesting to someone like me at all? I wanted to be an astronaut, not a person who studied water! But after constant goading by my mom (who had bought the book for me and assured me many many times that I would actually love it) I finally gave it a shot.

A number of hours later, I finally put it down because it was time for dinner, even though I still had chapters to go!

I reread it a few years ago and it’s just as good as I remember. The premise behind it is that Dirk Pitt, one of the main guys at NUMA (which actually exists, I found out later. Cussler made it) and his partner, Al Giordino, drop into a jungle in South America and rescue a team of researchers stuck at the bottom of a sinkhole filled with water–they found an air pocket when the oxygen tanks ran out, thankfully–and it gets more intense from there. From the jungle where they find the strange remains of a ship belonging, possibly, to Sir Francis Drake, they are taken captive by a military organization which they must make a harrowing escape from.

Pitt soon finds himself caught up in a ring of stolen artwork, missing Inca treasures, a soccer game player with heads, and a hidden river that flows beneath the wilds of the southern US that also leads to a treasure chamber of mind-boggling proportions.

While the book is pure escapism, it’s a heady mix of Indiana Jones and James Bond all mixed together with underwater exploring. If you’re looking for a good read that will keep you entertained, this is the book for you.

About Megan Hammer

An author just beginning to try to get her foot in the door, Megan hopes that blogging about her love will help her own writing skills, as well as let her see what other people like to read, and connect with them. While her favorites books are mainly in the Fantasy Genre, she is always looking for recommendations for something new to read. Have something to say to her? She is always happy to get e-mail at: inkblabber@gmail.com View all posts by Megan Hammer

4 responses to “Book Review Ten: Inca Gold by Clive Cussler

Leave a Reply

