Poetry Day

After going to a poetry reading in Milwaukee with my best friend Emily tonight, I realized that poetry was sorely lacking on my site as a type of writing to talk about.

Sadly, poetry is not my forte.  Happily, Emily has said that I am welcome to share her works on Inkblabber whenever I want in order to correct this lack on my part.  So about once a week (maybe Wednesdays?), I’ll put of a poem of hers for reading, discussing, and really, anything else that you want to do with it.

Here’s today’s poem for you.

VELVET ELVIS

they insist on organizing my life
in condescending order

I sleep violently, dreaming
of saviors

lying in bed with velvet Elvis
painted in the same way
as a Madonna –

I wish I could touch
your picture

you are the sand
I want to keep curled
under my toes

 

About Emily K Proeber: Emily has lived in Wisconsin her entire life, but has traveled to over 8 countries in her near 23 years of life.  And she hopes that is not the end of her travels either. She enjoys photography, writing, and the outdoors, even if the outdoors tries to kill her on a weekly basis due to allergies.  She is currently looking for employment after graduating Carthage College with an English Major as sadly, her writing has yet to begin to pay for her loans. But it’s something she loves, so she will likely go to the grave with a pen in hand and a poem in mind.

She has been published in the New Gnus Literary Journal as well as the Centrique.  Contact her for a copy of her self-published chapbook of “Here You Go”

Her poetry can be found here: http://konfuzedwithak.deviantart.com/gallery/12465648

About Megan Hammer

An author just beginning to try to get her foot in the door, Megan hopes that blogging about her love will help her own writing skills, as well as let her see what other people like to read, and connect with them. While her favorites books are mainly in the Fantasy Genre, she is always looking for recommendations for something new to read. Have something to say to her? She is always happy to get e-mail at: inkblabber@gmail.com View all posts by Megan Hammer

2 responses to “Poetry Day

Leave a Reply

