Book Review Six: Jewelry from a Toolbox by Hannah Rogge

I got Hannah Rogge’s book on a whim a few weeks ago from the Hamilton Bookseller Magazine.  I don’t think that I have ever spent a better two dollars and fifty cents.  A “how-to” book, it teaches the art of jewelry making, but from a unique perspective.  Unlike other jewelry books, you don’t need to have an intricate knowledge of how to do beading or wire working.  Instead, every single design in this books requires a trip to the hardware store and some time.

I think my favorite design in this book is a bracelet made of s-hooks and copper wire holding them together.  It’s an incredibly simple idea, but looks so very interesting.  While I haven’t tried making it yet, I do plan on doing some creating as soon as possible.  Other designs include a bracelet made of rubber sheeting with washers sewn onto it, a necklace made of nuts in a hexagonal pattern, a chain made of jump rings and plastic tubing that ends up looking like chain mail, even earrings and a belt!

A rope and copper wire bracelet is another favorite of mine, something I plan to pick up the materials for at the local hardware store tomorrow and try to make it.

On top of being an excellent source for patters, it is also a wonderful place to jump start your own creativity in order to see other things you might make!  Already, I can see that trips to Lowes and Home Depot promise to be more interesting when I think of how I might use tools and hardware in out-of-the-box ways.

It gives a whole new meaning to “hardwear”

I give this book a solid four out of five stars.  There are some patterns that I don’t think anyone would ever want to make or wear (a barrette made out of hinges?  I can only imagine the pain of long hair stuck in that….), but most are good, or at least interesting ideas.  If you’ve ever wanted to try your hand at making jewelry, here’s your place to start.

Get it here

Cover photo from Amazon.com

 

EDIT: I made one of the designs from this book today and I wanted to share how it came out.  It took about 2 hours from start to finish, and was a lot of fun to make.

About Megan Hammer

An author just beginning to try to get her foot in the door, Megan hopes that blogging about her love will help her own writing skills, as well as let her see what other people like to read, and connect with them. While her favorites books are mainly in the Fantasy Genre, she is always looking for recommendations for something new to read. Have something to say to her? She is always happy to get e-mail at: inkblabber@gmail.com View all posts by Megan Hammer

Leave a Reply

